Departmental Seminars

Cartographic Structures and the Growth of Trees in Language Development

 

Prof. Luigi RIZZI
(Collège de France)

Date: April 13, 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 4:30pm - 6:15pm
* Seminar will be conducted via Zoom

Prior registration is required

Registration Deadline:
12:00nn of 11 April 2021 (Sunday) – Hong Kong Time
The Zoom Meeting details will be provided on 12 April 2021

Reading Processing Among Hong Kong Deaf Signers:
Findings from Eye Movements and ERPs

 

Dr. Philip THIERFELDER
(The Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Date: March 30, 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 4:30pm - 6:15pm
* Seminar will be conducted via Zoom

Prior registration is required

Registration Deadline:
12:00nn of 28 March 2021 (Sunday) – Hong Kong Time
The Zoom Meeting details will be provided on 29 March 2021

Individual Differences in the Fluency Behaviour of Normally Fluent Speakers: Applications in Forensic Speaker Comparison Casework

 

Dr. Kirsty McDougall
(University of Cambridge)

Date: March 23, 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 4:30pm - 6:15pm
* Seminar will be conducted via Zoom

Prior registration is required

Registration Deadline:
12:00nn of 21 March 2021 (Sunday) – Hong Kong Time
The Zoom Meeting details will be provided on 22 March 2021

Crossing Phasal Domains: Topic Marking in Romance and Beyond

 

Prof. Roberta D’ALESSANDRO
(Utrecht University)

Date: March 16, 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 4:30pm - 6:15pm
* Seminar will be conducted via Zoom

Prior registration is required

Registration Deadline:
12:00nn of 14 March 2021 (Sunday) – Hong Kong Time
The Zoom Meeting details will be provided on 15 March 2021

韓國漢字音的來源、對應和層次 (普通話主講)

 

錢有用 副研究員
(中國社會科學院語言研究所)

Date: February 23, 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 4:30pm - 6:15pm
* Seminar will be conducted via Zoom

Prior registration is required

Registration Deadline:
12:00nn of 21 February 2021 (Sunday) – Hong Kong Time
The Zoom Meeting details will be provided on 22 February 2021

Writing Around the World - Contact and Conflict

 

Prof. Brendan WEEKES
(The University of Hong Kong)

Date: February 09, 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 4:30pm - 6:15pm
* Seminar will be conducted via Zoom

Prior registration is required

Registration Deadline:
12:00nn of 07 February 2021 (Sunday) – Hong Kong Time
The Zoom Meeting details will be provided on 08 February 2021

On Reducing Prosodic Categories to Phases

 

Prof. Michael BARRIE
(Sogang University)

Date: February 02, 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 4:30pm - 6:15pm
* Seminar will be conducted via Zoom

Prior registration is required

Registration Deadline:
12:00nn of 31 January 2021 (Sunday) – Hong Kong Time
The Zoom Meeting details will be provided on 01 February 2021

Evolution of Verb Meanings in Children and L2 Adult Learners through Reorganization of an Entire Semantic Domain: The Case of Chinese Carry/Hold Verbs

 

Prof. Mutsumi IMAI
(Keio University)

Date: January 26, 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 4:30pm - 6:15pm
* Seminar will be conducted via Zoom

Prior registration is required

Registration Deadline:
12:00nn of 24 January 2021 (Sunday) – Hong Kong Time
The Zoom Meeting details will be provided on 25 January 2021

Short-term Phonetic Convergence of Hong Kong English Towards RP and General American English and the Effect of Language Attitudes

 

Dr. Grace Wenling CAO
(The Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Date: January 19, 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 4:30pm - 6:15pm
* Seminar will be conducted via Zoom

Prior registration is required

Registration Deadline:
12:00nn of 17 January 2021 (Sunday) – Hong Kong Time
The Zoom Meeting details will be provided on 18 January 2021

Evidentiality and Its Relation to Other Functional Categories

 

Prof. Johan ROORYCK
(Leiden University)

Date: January 12, 2021 (Tuesday)
Time: 4:30pm - 6:15pm
* Seminar will be conducted via Zoom

Prior registration is required

Registration Deadline:
12:00nn of 10 January 2021 (Sunday) – Hong Kong Time
The Zoom Meeting details will be provided on 11 January 2021